AGM 2012/2013

The AGM was held on the 28th of September 2012 at the Colombo Medical Faculty, Kynsey Road, Colombo 8. The total number who attended was 33 and two members had sent in excuses.

The President, Professor A.H. Sheriffdeen, addressed the gathering briefly to welcome them and it was followed by the National Anthem. Immediately after that the gathering observed a minute‟s respectful silence in memory of deceased alumni.

The Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, Colombo, Professor RohanJayasekara then spoke a few words and congratulated the President, Committee and all the members present for their efforts in making CoMSAA a reality.

The Co-Secretary of CoMSAA then tabled the minutes of the Inaugural General Meeting of CoMSAA held on 01-07-2011. The Treasurer then tabled the Financial Report for the first year.

As the next item in the agenda, Dr. M. SarathGamini de Silva forwarded and tabled the Constitution of CoMSAA with the amendments already formulated. Further revisions were undertaken through a general discussion and the draft was adopted. Following this, Professor LalithaMendis tabled the Corporate Plan for 2012 and beyond.

The President, ProffessorSheriffdeen presented the Annual Report and highlighted the accelerated path taken by CoMSAA during his tenure of office. Mrs.Chrissy Aloysius was formally acknowledged for her outstanding contribution to the First CoMSAA Reunion and Mr. DiniduKaluarachchi, a 4th Year Medical Student, was also acknowledged for designing the CoMSAA logo.

The election of new office bearers for 2012/2013 then took place. The names of the Council Members are given in page 3 of the is Newsletter.

The new President, DeshamanyaVidyajyothi Dr. J.B.Peiris then addressed the gathering. He emphasised the need for establishing overseas chapters and called for the unstinted support of everybody towards further progress of CoMSAA.

Dr. PiyushaAtapattu, the new Co-Secretary delivered the Vote of Thanks.

The meeting concluded at 9.00 pm and was followed by a reception.

Scroll to Top